Windham Campbell Prize

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019

The Windham Campbell Prizes are global English-language awards that call attention to literary achievement and provide writers with the opportunity to focus on their work independent of financial concerns. Donald Windham, who inherited his fortune from Sandy Campbell, left his estate to Yale University to establish the Windham-Campbell Prizes.

The first prizes were announced on Monday, March 4, 2013 and since have been awarded yearly. A ceremony conferring the awards took place at Yale on September 10, 2013. In addition to a citation and award, winners of the Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prizes receive an unrestricted grant of $150,000 to support their writing.

Below are the awards just given to the 2018 recipients, each with an original drawing by Sarah Horowitz. They are engraved with the citation and calligraphied by Marilyn Zornado and bound by Carolina Veenstra. Design is by Sarah Horowitz and Rory Sparks.

photo by Dante Haughton for Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library